Student Speech Contest

The student speech contest at the biennale ECerS conference is an event where research students, representing each of the ECerS member countries, are able to give an oral presentation that is evaluated by a jury. The presentation duration will be 15 minutes, followed by questions from the jury and the audience.

The 2019 Student Speech Contest was organised on 16th and 17th June 2019 during the ECerS XVI Conference in Torino - Italy.

The following persons were respectively the winner and runner-ups of the 2019 Contest:

Number 1: Nick Goossens from Belgium : "MAX phase materials based on metal hydrides"

Number 2: Christian Berger from Austria: "Development of new materials for solid oxide fuel cell cathodes with superior performance and improved long-term stability"

Number 3: Ana Sofia Rodrigues Neto from Portugal: "Porous calcium phosphate bone graft scaffolds for advanced therapies"

The 2017 Student Speech Contest was held on 9th and 10th July 2017 during the ECerS XV Conference in Budapest - Hungary.

The following persons were respectively the winner and runner-ups of the 2017 Contest:

Number 1: Urska Gabor from Slovenia: "Formation mechanism of PLD-derived Pb(Mg1/3Nb2/3)O3-PbTiO3 thin films"

Number 2: Manuel Gruber from Austria: "Mechanical characterization of LiTaO3 and LiNbO3 single crystals for smartphone applicationsv"

Number 3: Chang Shu from United Kingdom: "A phase diagram study of (Ba,Ca)(Zr,Ti)O3 piezoceramics from combining structural and functional measurements"

The 2015 Student Speech Contest was held on 21st and 22nd June 2015 during the ECerS XIV Conference in Toledo - Spain.

The following persons were respectively the winner and runner-ups of the 2015 Contest:

Number 1:  Chrystelle Salameh, LCMCP (Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Paris) and Institut Européen de Membranes, Montpellier, France: “Synthesis characterization and application of polymer-derived Si(Al/B)CN ceramics”

       Number 2:  Andrea Zocca, University of Padova, Department of Industrial Engineering, Italy: “Extrusion-based three-dimensional printing of hardystonite from a preceramic polymer and fillers”

Number 3 ex aequo: Tamás Csanádi, Institute of Materials Research, Slovak Academy of Sciences, Kosice, Slovakia: “Deformation anisotropy in β-Si3N4 crystals under micropillar compression and nano indentation” and  Theresa Kainz, Graz University of Technology, Institute for Chemistry and Technology of Materials, Graz, Austria: “Tayloring antiferroelectrics for new ceramic power devices”