The European Ceramic Society


Stuijts Award

Stuijts Award

In memory of Prof. A. Leo Stuijts (1922-1982), who contributed considerably to the development of the science and technology of magneto- and electro-ceramic materials.

This award is given to ceramists belonging to a member country of the Society for outstanding contributions to ceramic science, technology and educational activities or production.

List of scientists who received the Stuijts Award.

Richard Brook Award

Richard Brook Award

This award honours Sir Richard Brook, distinguished fellow of ECerS and past editor of the Journal of ECerS, in recognition of all he has contributed to the Society.

The Richard Brook award is given to a ceramist belonging to a country outside Europe for outstanding contribution to ceramic science or technology and for enhancing understanding and collaboration within the international ceramic community.

List of ceramists who received the Richard Brook Award (International Prize).

Young Scientist Award

Young Scientist Award

The early career award shall be given every second year to a person under 40 years of age (at the date of the nomination) by reason of outstanding contributions to the ceramic sciences.

The person shall have performed the majority of the work in a European research institution and been a member of a national ceramic organization that is affiliated to the European Ceramic Society at least two years continuously at the established nomination deadline date when nominated.

List of scientists who received the Young Scientist Award.

Gian Nicolas Babini (Industrial) Award

Gian Nicolas Babini (Industrial) Award

This award honours Gian Nicola Babini, who served as President of the European Ceramic Society for two terms (1993/1995 and 2001/2005).

The Gian Nicolas Babini Award (ECerS industrial award) shall be given every second year to a person who contributed to the development of the European Ceramic Industry by an outstanding technical achievement. The achievement must represent an innovative technology or product successfully developed into a viable commercial item that demonstrates a gain to society through its diffusion and availability.

List of scientists who received the Gian Nicolas Babini Award.

Last news

Sep 2, 2021
January 2022 ACerS Winter Workshop Grants

In the framework of the ECerS International Ceramist Student Exchange Program, ECerS launches the call to allow 15 grants of 1.200 €.

Aug 31, 2021
Survey on 2022 ECerS Summer School

ECerS calls on the YCN community to find out what topics young ceramists would like to see developed during the 2022 ECerS Summer School.


Contact us for any information: - We will respond to your inquiry as soon as possible.


Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest news.

Our actions

ECerS coordinates and promotes the study of ceramics through the following actions :


Av. Gouverneur Cornez , 4

7000 Mons


Useful links